III

Rural Municipality of West River

Emergency Management Committee Meeting Minutes

Meeting No EMO-24-01 Time 6:00 PM

Session Regular - Public Date: Thursday, April 25, 2024

Chair Shaun MacArthur – Deputy Mayor Location Afton Community Centre

Adoption status To be approved Contact Person Laala Jahanshahloo - CAO

Attendance Mayor Helen Smith-MacPhail, Deputy Mayor Shaun MacArthur, Councillor Lillian MacCannell,

Mark MacFadyen - Emergency Coordinator, Laala Jahanshahloo - CAO, Susan Morse -

Administrative Assistant

Regret Nil

Guest Nil

Call to Order

Deputy Mayor Shaun MacArthur called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM.

Adoption & Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated. It was moved by Mayor Helen Smith-MacPhail, seconded by Councillor Lillian MacCannell, and unanimously carried.

Declarations of Conflict of Interest

No conflict of interest was declared.

Adoption of Previous Meeting's Minutes

The minutes of September 14, 2023, Emergency Management Committee Meeting were approved as circulated. It was moved by Mayor Helen Smith-MacPhail, seconded by Deputy Mayor Shaun MacArthur, and unanimously carried.

Recommendation Items

EMO.24.04.1 – Preparation for Hurricane Season

Decision Type: Action

Status: Recommended

Description:

The Committee discussed EMO response readiness for the 2024 Hurricane Season and recommended that an Inventory of EMO supplies be completed during the summer months; Drinking Water can be purchased closer to the Hurricane Season or in advance of forecasted

weather events. The Committee recommends the following items be purchased:

8-10 cots.

Windows blind for the sleeping area.

Curtains for partitioning the sleeping area into two or more rooms.

Information Items

EMO.24.04.2 – RMWR's Certified Reception Centres

Decision Type: Information

Status: Received

Description:

The CAO advised the committee that both Afton and Bonshaw Community Centres are now

certified reception centres.

Adjournment

Deputy Mayor Shaun MacArthur motioned to adjourn the meeting at 6:30 PM.

The next meeting will be determined later.

Shaun MacArthur Laala Jahanshahloo

Deputy Mayor _____ Chief Administrative Officer